• +91 033-33015656 / 40065097
  •   +91 8961696307

What is WBCS?

West Bengal Civil Service Exams

WBCS is the backbone of state machinery like IAS at the central level. Both UPSC and WBCS is the same, still there are a few differences. The difference is in the posting, which the aspirant gets after passing the examinations. Posting is restricted up to principal secretary but in case of UPSC it can be moved upwards to the extent of cabinet secretary. The eligible criteria are same as UPSC. The syllabus remains same like in UPSC but extra part is some topic related to West Bengal.

West Bengal Civil Service (Executive) officers, popularly known as WBCS officers, are servants of the state of West Bengal, India. They come to the service either on promotion from feeder services or directly. For the feeder services and WBCS (Exe) and other comparative posts Public Service Commission of West Bengal arranges competitive examinations in three phases every year. These phases are Preliminary, Main and interview. There are different groups in recruitment of such examination based on choice and merit of scored number. These are Group A, Group B (only for W.B. Police Service), Group C and Group D.


View WBCS Exam Pattern