• +91 033-33015656 / 40065097
  •   +91 8961696307

Civil service, the backbone of the Indian government machinery constitutes all the departments which runs the Central and State administration.

The prestige and power that comes along with these top-notch jobs like IAS, IPS, IFS, is a definite reason for anybody to join this profession. Running the administration of a vast and diverse country like India requires efficient management of its natural, economic and human resources.

To be precise the IAS is part of the Civil Services Exam conducted by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC), a Constitutional body headquartered in New Delhi. Around 22 other services or posts are part of the Civil Services Exam which consists of 3 stages – Preliminary, Mains and Interview.

Eligibilty Condition

  • For IAS and IPS , a candidate must be a Citizen of India.
  • For Other Services, a candidate must be either : A Citizen of India, or a subject of Nepal, or a subject of Bhutan, or a Tibetan refugee who came over to India before 1st Febuary,1962.
  • A person of Indian Origin who has migrated from Pakistan,Burma,Srilanka,East African Countries of Kenya,Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania,Zambia,Malwi,Zaire,Ethiopia and Vietnam.

Age Limits

  • A. 21-32 years for General Candidates
  • B. 21-37 years for SC/ST
  • C. 21-35 years for OBC
  • D. 21-37 years for J&K

Minimum Educational Qualifications

The Candidate must hold a degree of any university

Number of attempts

Every candidate appearing at Civil Service Examination, who is otherwise eligible, shall be permitted 6 attempts at the examination.

  • 6 for General
  • Unlimited for SC/ST
  • 9 for OBC

Physical Standards

Candidates must be physically fit according to the physical standards for admission to Civil Services Examination as per guidelines given in Appendix-III of Rules for Examination published in the Gazette of India

View UPSC Syllabus Details